Going Back to School with OCD

It is that time again. School is right around the corner. It is junior year. The year it starts to get serious. It is also the first year I’m going back to school with OCD under control.

School has always been a struggle for my Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. The germs on the desks and lockers irk me. I avoided the bathrooms and even my own folders and pencils grossed me out. Don’t even get me started on the anxiety I get when accidentally bumping into people in the hallway.

Oh, and let’s not forget the after school rituals. These were the most stressful part of the whole school day. Shall I walk you through it?

I would ideally sanitize my hands before opening my door to the house. I’d then proceed to drop everything on the floor and wipe it off with a Lysol wipe including my phone, laptop, and earphones. After I was sure that stuff was all good and germfree, I’d go shower (I’d shower two or three times a day). Once I finished all that, which usually took an hour, I could start my homework but only with a pencil from home of course.

But good old CBT, or Cognitive Behavioral Therapy nipped that in the bud one step at a time. With CBT I sat on the couch in my “dirty clothes” and I sanitized my laptop and earphones every other day.

School always was and will continue to be a major trigger for my OCD. But I have set some goals for this fresh start. As I always do, I thank God everyday that I had a chance to receive treatment for something that ruled my life.

Let’s all set some goals and maybe even sing a few songs in the cafeteria. We’re all in this together!

Leave a comment